Uncategorized

Meet Huntsville Center Director, David Cofield

davidcofield

The Alabama Extension Center System is proud to announce the opening of our newest center in Huntsville. David O. Cofield has been named the director. He isn’t new to NOBTS extension centers because he has served as the director of the Certificate Center that meets at FBC Athens. In this edition of the Gatekeeper we would like you to meet David as we anticipate the opening of the Huntsville Center in August.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Boaz, AL. (which is in northeast Alabama)

Share with us your testimony.

I have been in church all my life, but it was at the age of 9 in VBS when I sensed my over-whelming sense of lostness and need of a Savior and responded to Him.

Share about your call to ministry.

Because I was raised in church, I always believed God had special plans for each person’s life.  But it was at the tender age of 11 that I felt God calling me to preach.  At that young age, I didn’t know I was suppose to rebel and run, so I surrendered to preach and started preaching almost immediately.  I often said that I was more sure of my call to preach than my salvation. I would doubt my salvation for several years but as I have matured in the faith, I no longer doubt either calling.

Are you married? Do you have any kids?

I have been married 33 years to Roxanne and we have two sons, Keith (coach) and Kevin (pilot).  They are both married living in Glencoe and have given us three grandchildren with one more due March 21 and another due August 31.

Where do you currently serve in ministry?

I am the Pastor of CrossRoads Baptist Church in Rogersville, AL (between Athens and Florence).  I have served here for almost nine years.

What is your favorite hobby?

I love reading, my flower garden, and spending time with my grandchildren, when I can.

What is your favorite sport to watch or play?

I love basketball (mainly college).  I have had season tickets to Vanderbilt for three years and normally either go to the SEC or NCAA tournaments every year.

What is your favorite class to teach? What was your favorite class in seminary?

I have always enjoyed anything to do with preaching.  I have taught preaching on the undergraduate level as well as take every opportunity that I can to learn more.  I had Dr. Harold Bryson as my primary preaching professor at NOBTS.

Besides the Bible what was the last book you read? Did you enjoy it?

I am currently reading Tim Keller’s “Walking With God Through Pain and Suffering.”  It is an excellent book.

What is one piece of advice you would give students about their years in seminary?

Enjoy it to its fullness.  Seminary is not just something to “get through” – but enjoy. Learning and studying will be a life-long task.

 

Leave a Reply

