Uncategorized

Meet Birmingham Graduate Student: Jordan Norris

In this inaugural edition of the new Alabama Centers Gatekeeper, we would like to introduce you to Birmingham Graduate student, Jordan Norris. Jordan has a heart for his Lord Jesus Christ. His desire is to see Christ glorified in all that he does.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Huntsville, really west of Huntsville in the Harvest/Toney area. Currently I live in Adger, AL.

Briefly share your testimony

I grew up in church as a kid and prayed when I was young, but I didn’t know God. After years of spiritual confusion thinking that I was safe, God led me to a church and  to his love. So I let him have all of me.

Briefly tell me about your call to ministry.

God in his sovereignty put together the right people, the right place, and the right time to make it clear that he wanted me to give my life to his ministry. It happened in a little retirement trailer park in Cherokee, NC through a simple devotion and some very special words spoken by a friend.

Are you married? Kids?

Nope and nope, but hopefully one day!

Where do you serve in ministry?

I am helping with a new church plant in Helena. It’s called Karis Church, currently we are meeting at the Donut Chef in Helena. I’ve been praying through it. Well, I’m kind of the of the Prayer and Outreach guy.

What is your favorite hobby?

I like to write rap songs. Woot Woot!!

What is your favorite sport to watch and/or play?

Football is pretty much it, unless I’m at a game live. Everything else might as well be golf!

What is your favorite class?

Call me strange, but I’m kind of fond of Greek! Shout out to Dr. Aernie!

Besides the Bible what was the last book you read?

I am currently reading  Who Do You Think You Are? By Mark Driscoll for our Bible Study at church. In the book he walks through the book of Ephesians and reminds us who we are in Christ.

What is one piece of advice you would give students about their years in seminary?

Study and pray!

 

Image

Courtesy Photo

Leave a Reply

