Uncategorized

Meet Graduate Student Zac Reno

As we kick off a new semester, I would like for you to meet a student who is in his second semester with us at the Birmingham Extension Center: Zac Reno. He is a young pastor with a heart for Christ and to see people come to repentance and faith in Christ alone. When you see him on campus tell him hello and get to know him. He will do nothing but encourage your heart.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Morris, AL.

What is your testimony?

I am the first in my family to trust in Christ, I was 14 years old. A girl I knew invited me to church one night. I had prayed the “Sinner’s Prayer” a million times. But one night under the teaching of a godly youth minister. That night I felt the weight of conviction on my heart and so I repented and trusted in Christ.

Briefly describe your call to ministry.

Six months after I surrendered to Christ I was at a winter student conference in Gatlinburg. One night I remember being in worship, my eyes closed and hands raised. As I  stood there I could see myself behind a pulpit and it “wigged” me out. I talked to my youth minister and told me that if I was called to preach that I needed to continue praying and reading Scripture and the Lord would confirm it. The Lord used Acts 2:17 to confirm in my heart that he had called me to preach. In the years following the Lord gave me a burden for my lost brother and was able to see him come to know Christ. He is now a church planter and has been all over the world preaching the gospel. God is good!

Are you married? Do you have any kids?

I am married to Kimberly, we have one little girl named Gabriella and one on the way.

Where do you serve in ministry?

In January the Lord led our family to leave Bellevue Baptist Church in Memphis to take our first Senior Pastorate at First Baptist Church Arley.  It’s been a humbling privilege and opportunity to serve as a Senior Pastor.

What is your favorite hobby?

I love the outdoors! I am a bow hunter and bass fisher.

What is your favorite sport to watch and/or play?

I love College Football, but I don’t worship it! ROLL TIDE!! I also enjoy going to the gym and weight lifting.

What is your favorite class?

I would probably have to say Systematic Theology. I really enjoyed Dr. Boutwell as a professor.

Besides the Bible what was the last book you read?

Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire by Jim Cymbala

What is one piece of advice you would give students about their years in seminary?

I heard Johnny Hunt say one time, “the same sun that melts ice, hardens clay.” Be sure that you always allow your pursuit of the truth of Scripture to be that which melts your heart and not harden it.

 

reno

Leave a Reply

