Uncategorized

Meet Leavell College Professor Dr. Jason Jarvis

JasonResumePicture2 (1)

 

Where did you grow up?

I lived in several fun places growing up. I lived at a home for children outside Pigeon Forge TN when I was beginning school. I also lived in Montevallo, then Bessemer AL through high school.

What is your testimony?

I became a follower of Christ when I was thirteen. I grew up going to church “every time the doors were opened”, but the Holy Spirit opened my eyes to God’s grace during a revival in my home church.

Briefly tell me about your call to ministry.

God led me to begin seminary in 2000. I was not sure what God was calling me to do, but I knew He had a plan. Seminary was very different than what I had planned. I had already prepared to finish an MBA at Samford, and I was doing well in business. I struggled to determine if God was really the one leading me, but He soon confirmed what I was hearing. My wife had been praying for direction and believed God was preparing her for this major change. When I discussed my struggle with her, she began to cry and explained her experience with me. We prayed together about this matter until we knew God was the one leading this change. He provided specifics over the following year, and He has continued to be faithful in providing direction at the right time.

Are you married? Kids?

Michelle and I have been married for twenty-one years. We have three children: Caleb is a sophomore at the Birmingham Extension Center. Caleb is married to Katie (we claim her as our daughter). Candace is in the eighth grade at Thompson Middle School. We also have an eight-year-old dachshund named Mack.

Where do you serve in ministry?

We planted Fellowship Church in Alabaster in 2004. I resigned as pastor in November, but we continue to be involved in this ministry, and we are seeking God’s direction for our next place of service. I am also on the board of multiple non-profit organizations that support pastors and new church plants.

What is your favorite hobby?

Playing tennis and golf

What is your favorite sport to watch?

Golf or football

What is your favorite seminary class to teach?

Hermeneutics is my favorite class to teach because of its importance in properly communicating the word of God.

Besides the Bible what was the last book you read?

The Pursuit of God, by A.W. Tozer

What is one piece of advice you would give students about their years in seminary?

Seek more than grades and a diploma. Build relationships that will last, and discipline yourself to grow spiritually so God can equip you for his service.

Leave a Reply

